Normalizing Deviant Behavior

Standard

I’m cheating a bit with this posting…I wrote this back in Oct 2008 as a blog post for SparkPeople (one of my favorite websites for weight loss/healthy living.)  But since I like the whole concept, it’s good to remind myself of it and good to share again.

Normalizing Deviant Behavior

Sounds dramatic, eh?
I heard this term in a defensive driving class I took. What it basically means is excusing behavior that is not normal or right, and making it seem like it’s right. And as I kept thinking about this, I thought “That’s what I’ve been doing with my health and weight!”

I have been “normalizing” or accepting my HORRIBLE treatment of my body. I’ve been acting like it’s normal to weigh this and not exercise regularly and to eat badly. It’s not normal! Or healthy or good or anything! Oh, I’ve know I need to lose weight, obviously that’s why I’m on the site…but all the excuses to miss the gym, or the morning mochas, all that isn’t really NORMAL, and it all certainly goes against everything that I know that I should be doing.

I’ve also known that I’ve been cheating myself by not being consistent, and that I truly am my only obstacle. But for some reason, thinking about like this, that I’m normalizing deviant behavior (such a naughty phrase!) made me really take notice. I need to post this phrase somewhere to remind myself that’s it’s not okay, and it needs to change.

About erin711

It's a mess of a blog about being plus-size, loving clothes, having self-esteem issues, laughing way too much, and my daily interactions with the world around me. Stats - 37, live in Seattle with my boyfriend and 2 dogs.....and I'm funny sometimes

One response »

  1. ABnormalize deviant behavior! ABnormalize deviant behavior! Oooof – that’s hard to say three times fast, but it’s a great chant, isn’t it?

    It’s hard to normalize excellent habits, isn’t it. But we can do it. I support you!

Leave a Reply

