Zumba you fool

Standard

I will be trying something totally and completly new this week…Zumba! 

Wikipedia defines it as: Zumba is a dance fitness program created by dancer and choreographer Alberto “Beto” Perez in Colombia during the 1990s. The program combines Latin and international music with dance in an effort to make exercise fun.

I love to dance, and despite a few comments to the contrary, I believe I’m actually fairly decent at it.  I can keep the beat, okay?  This makes me nervous though.  It’s not just dancing….it’s exercise and sweating and rhythm and beats and fast paced movements with lots of people around.  I get the feeling it’s totally going to kick my ass, but in a fun way (is that possible?)

I will be trying it with my lovely lovely friend Deb who actually convinced me to do it.  I’m always saying, or at least saying in my head to that awesome other girl that lives there, that I’m going to try this or that or do this…blah blah blah.  If I had tried as much as I thought I would in life, well..that’s just a whole other story.

The point IS dear people, I’m actually doing something that makes me nervous in various ways, and I don’t think I do enough of that.  It makes me nervous to think I’ll be bad at it, or it’ll be too hard, or I’ll pass out and some foolish skinny women will trip over me while performing some move and then blame ME for injuring her.  It also makes me nervous because it’s new, and that’s always out of my comfort zone.  But, it makes me nervous in an excited fun way too, because it does look like fun, and I get to be with my friend, and I’m pretty sure the class will make me laugh.

Being nervous can be good, and stepping outside of that comfort zone can be invigorating and healthy, for the most part.

Leave a Reply

