Month in Review – July 2010

Standard

I decided to try to do a “best of” at the end of each month, and I would feature a movie, book, song, and some other fun stuff that stood out that month.  Isn’t that fun, children?  Even if it’s not necessarily the best of the month, it will be items I want to remark on.  Let’s see if I get past month 1!  

 July’s list:   

Book – The Girl Who Played With Fire, by Stieg Larsson   

Movie – The Red Shoes (Bunhongsin)  

Song – You Are What You Love, Jenny Lewis & the Watson Twins  

Accessory – Tree pendant  

Clothing – Blue shrug    

  

Book – The Girl Who Played w ith Fire, by Stieg Larsson   

This is the 2nd book in the series (book 1 is The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.)  I know it’s pretty formula driven, and some of it is predictable, but I really really like this series.  A lot of Swedish references, which is annoying but tolerable….and I can’t even say why I’m drawn to the books, but I’m excited to read the 3rd one.  Also saw the first movie, and it gets an “eh” vote.  Not too excited about the US version, although I know I’ll watch it when it comes out.   

   

   

  

Movie – The Red Shoes (Bunhongsin)   

It’s a Korean horror film loosely based on the fairy tale by Hans Christian Anderson.  Now, I love all of the following – horror films, asian films, and films based on fairy tales.  But, I’m not talking about this movie because it wonderful or even that remarkable.  It was actually highly disappointing, just as most horror movies have been for the last 20 years.  I want a movie to scare me, frighten me, make me scared to go to sleep!  But alas, I don’t see that happening.   And I’m not talking about movies that startle you or make you jump when someone yells “Boo;”  those are easy thrill tactics.  I’m talking about a movie that frightens your mind, that makes you afraid to go to sleep or turn out the lights.  And although 95% of scary movies that I watch don’t frighten me, I will continue to watch them and enjoy them for being so suckass, that’s just how I roll.  Especially if you can stick a vampire or ghost or werewolf in there somewhere.   

Besides all that, the shoes in the movie were actually pink, not red.  Cute though…I would wear them.   

tt0468683   

  

Song – You Are What You Love, by Jenny Lewis & the Watson Twins   

I absolutely adore this song, I fell in love with it the first time I heard it a few years ago.  If I ever get around to creating a songlist on my ipod for songs that make me smile with the first few notes, this might be the first song on the list.  I would love to just quote the entire song here, but I’ll try to settle for a few choice pieces:   

But you are what you love  

And not what loves you back  

That’s why I’m here on your doorstep  

Pleading for you to take me back  

The phone is a fine invention  

It allows me to talk endlessly to you  

About nothing disguising my intentions  

Which I’m afraid, my friend, are wildy untrue  

It’s a sleight of hand, a white soul band  

The heart attacks I’m convinced I have  

Every morning upon waking  

To you I’m a symbol or a monument  

Your rite of passage to fulfillment  

But I’m not yours for the taking  

    

 Do we not just love this song, beautiful people???   

   

Accessory – Tree Pendant   

It was my birthday in July, and lovely boyfriend Steven bought me a gorgeous pendant.  A soft blue background, with a white square and a black tree with roots on it. Simple enough, yet it’s absolutely so much more.  This pendant makes me think of growth, strength, calmness, flexibility, and yearning all at the same time.  Since I’m hoping to inspire myself to do more this year, this was the perfect symbol for me, especially the growth part.  I’ve worn almost every single day since I’ve gotten it.   

   

   


 Clothing – Blue Shrug   

As a fatshionista, there have been certain clothing items I adored but was pretty sure I couldn’t get away with wearing, one of those being shrugs.  You know, the cute little “half” sweaters in cutesy colors and prints.  For a long time, I thought I had to wear long shapeless items because I was big, not really realizing that by doing that I was making myself actually look larger.  Anyway, I finally got past that horrible habit and started dressing better.  I still didn’t think I was allowed certain items, but I kept seeing more and more larger girls wearing these “off limit” items and thought “Why not me?”  So I tried on some shrugs, loved them, said “I can rock this” and proceeded to purchase a few.  I am absolutely in love with my blue one, not sure what the shade is.  I am happy every time I wear it, and I always get compliments on it.  The point of this clothing posting?  Never assume anything is off limits until you try it, and never say you aren’t allowed something, (unless you are allergic and could possibly swell up and lose your ability to breathe, then it’s okay to say it’s not allowed.)  

   


   

One response »

Leave a Reply

