New Year’s Resinlution

Standard

I’ve begun to do craft night with some girlfriends.  We’ve only done 2 nights so far, but that’s better than none.  Why am I writing about crafting?  Surprising, the whole situation has a lot to do with me and my personality.

I have always wanted to be a “crafty” person.  I used to keep craft books and magazine and gather supplies and read about it and…..then nothing.  I would just gather stuff but never do anything.  And I still do that.  I read craft blogs, I have a big tub full of stuff that I keep thinking “This would look so cool” or “I can’t wait until I get to use this.”  And yet, nothing much has materialized yet.

I tend to procrastinate about everything in life, including this.  Why do I do that?  I have all these projects I want to try and yet I talk myself out of them in so many ways.  So I had to sit down and figure out why I do that.  I came up with a few reasons.

  1. I am worried I will suck at it.  While this shouldn’t be such a big deal, for some reason it is.  I think if I try to create something and it turns out ugly or not quite right, I will feel like a failure and be very sad, and then won’t want to do it anymore.  But I also know that a first product is hardly ever the best, and that with practice anything I try can become a polished skill.  And it’s not even like I have to show anyone the first project I try.  I shouldn’t be so scared to fail. I should be scared of not even trying.
  2. I think it’s too hard.  I think that there are too many supplies, too many steps, it’s too intricate…blah blah.  When I did the resin craft with my friends, it was AMAZINGLY easy.  I was shocked.  This is something I would have thought about doing, I would have read the steps and thought “No way!  Too hard!”  and yet it wasn’t  and I love the finished pieces! (Pictures scattered about this blog)  And even if it is hard, so what?  I do hard stuff all the time.  Well, maybe not all the time, but occasionally.  I figured out basic math, didn’t I?

  1. I have no time.  Ha ha, this is the worst one.  I have no excuse for this excuse.   I really do have lots of time, and this is time I should be filling with being creative and trying new things and challenging myself.  I’ve felt very lost lately, a bit melancholy about what I am doing, and the word “stagnant” is constantly popping up in my mind.  I need to fill my life with more actions, creativity, people, laughter, and attempts.

So that’s what I came up with when I asked myself why I haven’t attempted more of my crafty ambitions.  And those reasons affect me in a lot of other aspects of my life too, not just in this one area.  So maybe if I get off my bum and actually start trying stuff, my results can overflow into other areas of my life.  It’s worth a shot.  (Ha ha, at first I typed resluts….)

See?  I told you being crafty (or not being crafty) affects my life.  I don’t know why you doubt me.

And for those of you interested, the 2nd craft night with the girls involved making pendants out of pictures, bezels, and resin.  So easy!  We printed pictures we like, got some bezels in different shapes, fit the pics into the bezels, mixed the resin then poured it over the pics, blew out the bubbles and let them dry.  EASY RIGHT???   I know, I know!  And now I have some awesome pendants that are uniquely me!

And my wonderful friend also convinced me to go to a ring making class with her, although I had no experience working with silver or making jewelry or anything.  Again, although I was nervous, it was easy, and I have a great ring.  And it was fun!  I got to learn something new, I got a finished product, I got to play with fire…all good things.

So, the moral of this story – I (and this also means you) will try new things and put aside my fears of failing or it not being easy.  It’s okay to be a little scared of trying something new, but I need to then move onto the next step of trying it.  I will be craft and innovative and creative!  Or I might just copy other projects and play them off as my own.

3 responses »

  1. i know what you mean. i have so many things i want to try and i just havent. sometimes its just intimidating.

    right now im waiting for a kit to learn to torch enamel, that should be fun, or tragic, we will see which.

    you know, i find the worst part is getting started, then momentum takes over.

Leave a Reply

