Hot in the city (like, gross sweaty hot in Seattle)

Standard

Yeah, I know, right?  Get all gung ho about posting then just desert y’all for months.

I’m lame.

But here’s a pretty picture to bribe you into forgiving me.

ROBERT DOWNEY JR.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
 photo | Robert Downey Jr.

Borrowed from People’s Sexiest Man Alive

Anyway….what’s up with me?  Surprisingly, not much.  I decided I was in a major funk and am working on getting out of it.  I just started therapy (!) so we’ll see how that goes.  Trying to decide what I want to do, who to be, still working through my grief from losing my dad,  all kinds of junk.

Thanks to Groupon, I finally took a beginning sewing class.  I’ve wanted to do it for years but always put it off.  So glad I went.  It was easier than I thought and I made a kick ass bag!!

I think I’m a better sewer than photographer.  It was so much fun!  I was totally impressed with  myself.

LOOK!!  Gussets!  Isn’t that awesome!!!  I can’t wait to do more.  But I decided I need to clean out all of my boxes and junk before I start any projects.  I also want to start knitting again, and I just learned an awesome chain mail technique called Byzantine (pics later.)  But I have so much stuff to go through, especially stuff from my parents’ house that I need to organize.  I really just need to make some room!

Also, fun story!  There was a woman in my class that looked exactly like Julie from The Love Boat.  And although she went by a different first name, turns out that the actress’s real first name, and she does live in Seattle…so I totally took a sewing class with Julie!  I didn’t ask her, but it was her.  She was very funny and we had a great time.

So, I’m also feeling very inspired by the blog New Dress a Day.  Totally want to try some of this stuff!!!

My friend Brenna had an 80’s themed birthday party.  She and I were the only ones who dressed up, but that’s OK, I guess.  Here’s a very bad picture of my excellent makeup and hair.

I think I will regret posting this, but haters gonna hate.

So, on to the outfit posts!!!!

Dress – Dressbarn / Hair Flower – Brenna / Necklace – gift from craft fair  /  Sunglasses – Claire’s

So, it’s summer finally in Seattle, which means it’s crazy gross hot.  I’m not a summer person, I really don’t like the heat.  Fall is my favorite season.

I wore this to a one year old’s birthday party (cutie pie Benjamin!!!) and then to a family reunion bbq.  It was SO grossly hot that I just couldn’t put on a sweat or anything to cover up my arms.  I hate my arms, but sometimes comfort trumps my self-esteem issues.

Got this dress for super cheap because our local Dress Barn is closing, I think it was $16?  Woohoo!!!

Oh, and in this heat I really couldn’t cover up my ankles or legs, and you all know how much I HATE showing those.

Oh well, I got over it and didn’t even care that much.

This week it’s been even hotter, it got up into the 90’s today.  Just ridiculous!  I really can’t stand it, it makes me quite grumpy actually.

At least my work place has air conditioning.  My previous job was in an old building with no AC and the windows opened above the alley with the dumpsters from our building and the hotel next door.  So not cool.  Quite disgustingly stinky hot it was.  Oh, and we got to see the druggies passed out and occasionally someone turning tricks in the alley, but only on special occasions.

OH!  I also spent a weekend fishing with my brothers up at Mineral Lake.  They used to go every summer with my dad and this year I went with them.  It was very sweet and good and wonderful and sad.  We took my dad’s ashes up there, he always loved going up there.  I got to fish too!  It was good to have time to say goodbye to my Dad, even though I still wish he was here.

Ha!  For once my makeup was decent, even if it only lasted as long as I was in the air conditioned car.  Have I mentioned how I HATE THE HEAT?

So tomorrow, I’m going to my 20 year high school reunion.  Quite excited actually.  We had a very small graduating class, less than 50 girls, so it should be lots of fun.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

