Scaredy Cat

Standard

I’m a big chicken.

I’m scared of lots and lots of stuff.  Maybe “scared” isn’t the appropriate word.  I have a certain comfort zone and I really hate to step out of it.  And I find I’m getting way more settled in my comfort zone and really don’t want to do anything new or anything I’m not familiar with.

But, I also discovered that maybe I’m not ok with that.

So, all the activities and self improvement jaunts have actually been 2 fold.  One – to help me get out of my funk.  Two – to get out of my comfort zone.  Perhaps my funk and comfort zone are roommates and conspire against me to not do anything at all?  Hmm….

Anyway, this post is a bit rambling.  I knew I wanted  to write something about getting over my fears, but it’s Monday morning, I’m extremely worn out, and I just can’t seem to make a coherent thought.  Of course, maybe this is how I always write, I just never realized it before.

In my last post, I posted pictures of my most awesome bag that was made in a beginning sewing class.  I have wanted to sew for a while, but I just never tried it or really pursued it.  Because I was afraid it would be difficult and that I would make too many mistakes.  Does it matter?  No.  If I sew something, most likely it’ll be for myself.  So if I make a mistake, it’s no big deal.  Why was this SO hard to realize?  And when I make mistakes, I’m usually ok with admitting it.  But for some reason, I didn’t want to put myself in a situation where I would most likely make mistakes and actually have to learn from them.  I’m not too bright sometimes.  What I am trying to say is it’s really REALLY ok to make mistakes.  Seriously.

I also took a chain mail class that was totally awesome, but again, I put it off for awhile because of how hard I thought it would be.  Again – so what?  If it’s too hard, I don’t have to do it.  And most likely, it’s not really as hard as I make it out to be.

Why do I give up before I even start?

I’m slowly breaking out of my shell.  I put up a good front too.  I act like I’m comfortable in new situations and that I’m daring and willing to try new stuff, but not so much.  So I think I need to live up to the image I am portraying, or that I at least think I’m portraying.  For all I know, everyone is thinking “Erin, you never EVER try new things, you are a big baby! But that’s ok, we love you anyway.  Keep thinking that you fool us, it’s all good.”  Yes, this is exactly how I imagine my friends to think about me, and THAT’S OK.  They don’t mind.  At least in my head they don’t.

So after all my rambling…..try new things.  Try new food, and try wearing something you never thought you could.  Take a class, any class.  Groupon is a great place for a cheap class.  First step – figure out what your comfort zone exactly is, so you know exactly what you need to do to step out of it.  And remember – baby steps!

And here’s some local links to get you started….sorry, it’s all for Seattlelites!

Fusion Beads – so many cool classes and the instructors are fabulous.  The website is a bit lacking though, but you can find the classes if you do some searching.

Quality Sewing & Vacuum – this is where I took my sewing class.  Fun!  Again, I tried to set the link to the class schedule.

Groupon – if you don’t know what Groupon is, then I suggest moving out from under your current rock to a sunnier locale.  Ha!  Just teasing.

I was also told that the link I included on my last post for New Dress a Day wasn’t working.  If that happens, try refreshing the page.  Sometimes I have trouble with that blog also, but usually a refresh will work.  If not, just do a search for New Dress a Day or Marissa Lynch.  Love it!

Check out your library, and do a search for whatever you are interested in.  Free and easy way to start learning new stuff. Cooking, sewing, singing, rock climbing….

Check out Craigslist for free events and classes.  Check community colleges for new things.  Start small, but START.

Ha, I could totally be a corny inspirational speaker.  I’d fall off the stage though, or get tangled in my microphone cords.

4 responses »

  1. LOVE THIS POST! YOU ROCK!
    You know I am like you in some many ways…I often talk myself out of things just out of fear that I will fail at it. I think its our human tendency to avoid things that may cause us pain. I always have admired you for “putting up a good front” and putting yourself out there. You are an inspiration.

  2. You need to give yourself more credit. None of us want to leave our comfort zone. You have always been ready to do things that I would never do. You are a wonderful person and we all have these fears and I admire the fact that you can be open about that. Love you lots!

Leave a Reply

