An extra coating please and thank you

Standard

Oh so very happy with the election results….Obama, Elizabeth Warren, Ref 74 here in Washington State.  YAY!!!

Well, onto other issues, namely my outfit!

Boots – Lane Bryant / Leggings – Torrid / Shirt – Mossimo (via Consignment Shop) / Coat – Style&Co (via Consignment)

Back in the day, I SO wanted a coat like this.  I mean, I really really wanted it, seemed like every girl I went to school with had something similar.  But I had my coat for the year, and couldn’t really justify asking my parents for a new one.  My parents worked hard, and made sure we wore trendy stuff as much as possible, and made sure we were able to pick out what we wanted whenever possible.  So I certainly was never lacking or felt like I didn’t measure up.  But I never did get my coat.  Of course, I never even mentioned it to my parents, I would have felt guilty!

Amazing how getting something you wanted 25 years ago can STILL make you happy.

HA!!

And this tunic/dress – this thing did not fit me very well a few months ago.  It was a bit too tight and would constantly ride up on me, and would be stretched in the chestal area and so I just couldn’t wear it.  And now look!!  Woohoo!!

Had another monthly check-in at Swedish Weight Loss services today, and my total weight loss is 26.3 so far, which was a major shock.  That’s 7 pounds since the last check-in.  Mostly surprised because I got sick last month and gained some weight back, then had to lose it again, and it just seems like the weight loss is slower.  But it was an awesome surprise, and it’s nice when clothes fit me better.

I’m also feeling better. I’m not so sluggish throughout the day and I have a bit more energy.  I still can’t really tell that I’ve lost weight, but I’m finally getting some clothes that fit differently.  I’m very proud of myself for not giving up, and even though I still make bad choices sometimes, it’s not every day, and for the most part, I’m consistent.

If any foolio tries to tell you that weight loss is easy, they are full of it.  Don’t believe them.  It sucks.  It’s hard and makes you feel like crap, and you doubt yourself and feel ugly and worthless and that you can’t accomplish anything.  You can go from feeling elated to being depressed in just a few moments.  That’s why loving yourself ALL THE TIME is important.  Self-esteem is important in every aspect of your life, whether you are trying to lose weight or be creative or just trying to get through the day-to-day of your life.  Love yourself, and don’t doubt your abilities.

Be healthy, be happy

Can we give a shoutout to the consignment stores?  I love Two Big Blondes and for these reasons – they sell plus size, they change their stock constantly, and they aren’t rude to customers.  I have a consignment store in my neighborhood, much closer than 2BB, but I never go there because I get treated so poorly.  Their plus-size selection is one rack, and they do NOT like to help the bigger customers (I’m talking to you Funky Janes!!!)

And the other consignment stores in the neighborhood are ok, but again, their selection is way too small, it’s not even worth it.  They are much more polite though.  In fact, when I actually bought an item at this consignment store, the clerk said “Oh, I hope that you’ll be back, especially now that you found ‘your section’ ”  These last 2 words were said in a stage whisper.  I am assuming she meant the not so popular plus-sizes.  I just laughed, while my mom was insulted for me.  The woman didn’t know any better, she thought she was being polite.

Funny story about the coat – I went to a “bag sale” at 2BB.  Have you ever done this?  I was lucky to get out with all of my fingers.  You pay $5 for a garbage bag, and whatever you can put into it, you keep.  The women there are crazy!  I had no time to actually look at sizes or try things on, so I just grabbed stuff as I saw it.  I’m sure if there had been curtains hanging there, I would have ended up with those.  I actually got some great stuff for not really knowing what I was grabbing, this coat being one such item.

Me trying to be cute – does NOT come across in this goofy picture

14 responses »

  1. Love the comments about how trying weigh loss is and how frustrating. Love specially the reminder to love ourselves no matter where you are in the journey to keep your sanity. I needed that.
    So super proud of you!

  2. Absolutely lovely coat! Congrats on rocking that fabulous tunic. Weight is a touchy subject at any size, but it’s always important to do it in a steady, healthy manner. We all hope for instant results, but ultimately being healthy (mind AND body) is more important than being a certain size.

    • Thank you, I do adore that coat!!

      And thank you for the response about weight loss. It’s crazy how almost everyone can relate to the emotions it creates!! You are so right!

  3. Hi Erin, it makes me happy to hear that you are feeling good 🙂 I would LOVE to be able to partake in something as crazy as that “bag sale”. Oh my. And say what? You snatched that coat in the bag sale? Wow.

    Incidentally, I just wanted to let you know that the Swop Partners have been paired up 🙂 Chloe and I felt it was a good time to do it a couple of days earlier. http://www.juanitatortilla.com/2012/11/12-days-of-christmas-swop-pairs.html

    The details are in your email. Do check the Junk Mail folder, in case my mail got tossed in there! 🙂

    Have a great weekend,
    Juanita

    • I was scared of some of those ladies at the bag sale, it was serious business!!! I’m surprised I didn’t get a black eye!

      Thanks for organizing the swop! Excited!

Leave a Reply

